Current WTA ranking
singles 57doubles6



JAN 14 - JAN 26

read more

Abierto GNP Seguros

Place:  Monterrey, Mexico
Time:  03.04.2017 - 09.04.2017
Category  International
Draw Size  32
Surface  Hard
Prize Money  $226,750
Title Holder
Heather Watson
Kate 2014  
Kate 2015  

Monterrey hosted a WTA event for the first time in 2009 at the Sierra Madre Tennis Club.

While Marion Bartoli was the inaugural winner of what is now known as the Abierto Monterrey Afirme, 2010, 2011 and 2013 champion Anastasia Pavlyuchenkova has been the tournament's dominant figure. In 2014, former World No.1 Ana Ivanovic was victorious.

The event attracted publicity during the 2012 staging when Serena Williams and Gisela Dulko delighted fans by rallying on an acrylic mini-tennis court that was floating on water at the Santa Lucía Riverwalk.

Monterrey is informally known as "the city of mountains" and is the capital city of México's northeastern state of Nuevo León. It is a base for many major international corporations and is México's second richest city.

R16 Heather Watson 4:6 1:6
R32 Denisa Allertova 6:4 6:3

Abierto GNP Seguros. Monterrey 2017.

read more

Ekaterina Makarova started the tournament in Monterrey with a victory.

read more