Evgenia Manyukova and Anastasia Myskina

Kate began playing tennis at Club Luzhniki where at the age of 12 she was coached by sisters Irina and Elena Granaturova.

It was the best and happiest time of my childhood. I'm really grateful to them!

Since 2007 and now on Kate's constant coach is Evgenia Manyukova.

Evgenia Aleksandrovna Manyukova (born on May 17, 1968, in Moscow) — Soviet and Russian professional tennis player, coach and sports administrator, Master of Sport of the USSR, International Class (1988), Merited Coach of Russia;

• Winner of the mixed doubles tournament of the French Open (1993);
• USSR champion in singles (twice) and mixed doubles;
• Winner of four WTA tournaments in women's doubles.

Ekaterina Makarova:

We used to spent a lot of time together with Evgenia Aleksandrovna when I played for Russian national junior teams. She traveled with us as the team captain. And somehow I was always under her wing in the national teams- both when I played in “under 14” category, and at 16, and at 18. And I liked everything in our team's training camp. And for the six years of my playing for Russian national junior teams, when I was sitting beside Manyukova during changing of the ends, I had lost only one singles match. I used to have some amazing positive stats,

When at some point I got stuck... I came to Evgenia Aleksandrovna by myself and just said: I don't know anything, I want to work with you and that's it! And we started working together; at first, Evgenia Aleksandrovna accompanied me only to Grand Slam tournaments. And so, 8 years are gone and we have a completely different schedule.

Evgenia Manyukova:

I've always believed in Kate, I think she has great potential. She is built physically very well – tall, slim, she is in perfect health, she can do everything on court. But the most important thing was to make her believe in herself, believe that she could defeat top players. This is what we're working on right now, as well as on physical condition, technique, tactics.

Kate has been right to like Nastya Myskina, her tennis, because Makarova doesn't have such powerful muscles or, say, serve at 220 km/h. But she has other advantages – she has good vision of the court, moves well, she knows how to place the serve so that the opponent across the net moved all the time, and she can strike unexpectedly to the part of the court where it would be difficult to handle it. I have kept Kate in sight for a long time and she played rather well in the junior tournaments. Since I am the captain of the national junior team, I know perfectly all the girls.

Several years ago, Ekaterina Makarova's team was completed by Anastasia Myskina - a friend and idol. She assists in training process and sometimes accompanies Kate at the tournaments.

Over the past three years, Kate has been assisted by Anatoliy Glebov, a massage therapist.

For 5 years, Kate has worked with Lilya Nurutdiniva, an Olympic Champion, at her overall physical condition. It was a fruitful cooperation.

Pyotr Ivanovich Naydyonov, a football player, helps Kate to work at her movement on court and improvement of footwork.

Евгения Манюкова и Анастасия Мыскина

Играть в теннис Катя начинала в клубе "Лужники", где 12 лет тренировалась под руководством Ирины Григорьевны и Елены Григорьевны Гранатуровых.

Лучшее и веселое время моего детства. Очень им благодарна!

С 2007 года бессменным тренером Кати является Евгения Александровна Манюкова.

Евгения Александровна Манюкова (род. 17 мая 1968, Москва) — советская российская профессиональная теннисистка, тренер и спортивный администратор, мастер спорта СССР международного класса (1988), заслуженный тренер России.

• Победительница Открытого чемпионата Франции в смешанном парном разряде (1993)
• Чемпионка СССР в одиночном (дважды) и смешанном парном разряде
• Победительница четырёх турниров WTA в женском парном разряде

Екатерина Макарова:

С Евгенией Александровной мы проводили очень много времени вместе, когда я играла за юниорские сборные России. Она ездила с нами как капитан сборной. И как-то все время я была в сборной под ее крылом - и когда играла в категории "до 14 лет", и в 16, и в 18. И мне все так нравилось на сборах нашей команды. И когда я во время смены сторон сидела на скамейке рядом с Манюковой все эти шесть лет, что я играла за юниорские сборные России, я проиграла только одну свою одиночку. У меня была какая-то невероятная положительная статистика.

Когда на каком-то этапе я застопорилась... я сама пришла к Евгении Александровне и просто сказала: ничего не знаю, хочу с вами работать, и все тут! И мы стали работать - сначала в Москве - и Евгения Александровна сопровождала меня только на Большие Шлемы. Вот прошло 8 лет, и у нас уже совсем другой график.

Евгения Манюкова:

В Катю я всегда верила, считаю, она имеет большой потенциал. У нее прекрасные физические данные – высокая, стройная, отличное здоровье, она может на корте все. Но главное было – поверить в себя, в то, что она может обыгрывать высококлассных игроков. Над этим мы и работаем, параллельно с работой над физикой, техникой, тактикой.

Кате не зря всегда нравилась Настя Мыскина, ее теннис, потому что Макарова не обладает такими уж мощными мышцами или, например, подачей под 220 километров в час. Но зато у нее есть другие преимущества – она отлично видит корт, прекрасно двигается, умеет пласировать удары, то есть заставляет противника постоянно двигаться, причем может пробить неожиданно в неудобную для обработки точку корта. Катю я давно держала в поле зрения, и она неплохо играла в юниорском туре. Так как я капитан юниорской сборной, то я отлично знаю всех девчонок.

Несколько лет назад к команде Екатерины Макаровой присоединилась Анастасия Мыскина - подруга и кумир. Она помогает в тренировочном процессе и иногда сопровождает Катю на турнирах.

В течение последних трех лет с Катей работал Анатолий Глебов, врач-массажист.

Над общей физической подготовкой в течение 5 лет Катя работала с Олимпийской чемпионкой Лилей Нурутдиновой. Было интересное сотрудничество.

Футболист Петр Иванович Найденов помогает Кате работать над передвижением по корту и улучшением работы ног.